SUE

SUE AB#19 -254- F, 3 Years

Name: Sue

Gender: Female and will be spayed in January

Age: 3 years

Size/Weight: Medium sized, 34lb.  Sue is a very fit dog who could use an additional 2-3 lbs

Color:  White/Brown

Breed:  English Setter

Socialization/Training:  Sue learned how to use the dog door in one day.  Since she went into heat two days after she got here, I haven’t been able to get her out around other dogs or people.  She is very quiet and will curl up on her dog bed when she first meets someone new. She was very reserved when I first got her, but within 3 days, she was asking for belly rubs.  I think she will always be a bit reserved in new situations, but with experience, she will warm up quickly.  Now that she is comfortable, she romps with the other dogs and loves to be petted.  Doesn’t know basic commands yet.

Good with children:  Unknown

Good with dogs:  Gets along very well with my setters.  Loves to romp and run in the yard with them.  

Good with cats:  She is very respectful of my 18 year old cat.  She follows my cat down the hall and does a play bow in front of her bed, but doesn’t chase my cat or try to hurt her.

House-trained:  no accidents in the house.  She has constant access to the backyard (dog door) while she is awake and sleeps in a crate.  

Crate-trained:  Sue sleeps well in her crate.  She settles quickly and doesn’t make any noise until it is time to get up the next morning.  I also find her resting in her crate if she decides to nap in the bedroom.

Leash trained:  Work in process.  I haven’t be able to walk her because she is in heat

Activity Level:  She loves to romp in the backyard and will play in the house if the other dogs are wrestling or playing.  Generally she will get into a dog bed and rest quietly when she gets inside the house in the evening.  Since she comes from a hunting kennel, she is accustomed to getting a lot of exercise.  I think she needs to be able to run daily either in a fenced yard or dog park.  I think she will enjoy walking too once she gets some practice walking on the leash.  She loves to run and bark in the backyard and actually spends more time in the backyard than my dogs.  If you need a quiet dog, Sue may not be appropriate as she loves to bark.

Fence:  Sue does well with a 4 foot aluminum fence.  She doesn’t try to go over it or under it.  She is young and fit and will want to run in either a fenced yard or dog park daily.

Behavior:  Sue loves to be petted and get belly rubs, but she doesn’t constantly ask for cuddles.  I think this may be due to the fact that she comes from a hunting kennel.  I think she was handled kindly at the kennel but I don’t think they spent a lot of time cuddling the dogs.  Sue is an independent dog and can happily entertain herself with a chewy or in the yard with my dogs.  She does love to bark at the activities going on around my house/farm.  Since I live on 15 acres, her barking doesn’t bother anyone, but if you are looking for a quiet dog, she might not be a good fit.

Health:  Sue is very fit, young and healthy.  She was negative for heartworms and is now on preventative.  She was also negative for tick-borne illnesses.  She has a little dental tartar and had a flea problem when she first got here.  She is also being treated for her flea infestation and will be spayed January 7th. 

Foster comments:  Sue is a lovely dog and will make a wonderful pet.  She is happy and loving dog and I am so glad to help her on her journey to find a loving new home.  It will be hard to let her go when the time comes, but I am so excited that she is going to be able to live a whole new life.  I think she would do well in a house with another dog or people who are home with her.  If it is a single dog situation, some play time with other dogs at a dog park or doggie day care would be good for her.  I don’t think she would enjoy being home alone for long periods of time, without a chance to play with other dogs.

Adoption Fee: $300.00 Adoption fee Will increase to $350.00 January 1, 2020

Foster location:  NC

Volunteer transport can be arranged in the Continental US within a 1,000 mile distance between adopters & foster home. Typically, we are able to transport your adopted dog to within 2 hours of your home. *Dogs can be adopted outside the 1000 mile transport distance; however, adopters must be willing to either fly their adopted dog, drive to a location within the 1000 mile transport range, or make independent transport arrangements for their adopted dog. Transports to far West states, from Eastern states, may have additional restrictions.