CHAI ABIN#19-048-1 – M, 7 Months

Foster dog name:  CHAI

Gender:  Male

Age:  7 months

Size/Weight:  26 lbs.

Color:  Golden

Breed:  English Setter (mom)/Golden Retriever (?)

Socialization/training:  Chai is a friendly, tail wagging, happy and I should also mention very cute little guy.  He’s went with me to work a couple of times and was a perfect gentleman and a hit with all.  He's still in the puppy stage and likes to do some chewing, so he needs to be enticed with toys/bones to redirect him from the inappropriate chewing.  He will sit before getting a treat and his food at breakfast/dinner time.   

Good with Children:  There are no children in Chai's foster home, but he seems friendly with everyone and would probably be fine with children.  

Good with Dogs:  Chai gets along well with the male and female resident dogs.  He loves to run and romp with his foster sister in the backyard.  He did bark a lot at them when first introduced, but it didn’t take long for him to find out they were fine and weren’t going to hurt him.  

Good with Cats:  Unknown

House trained:  Yes, but with him still being a puppy he does have an occasional accident.

Crate trained:  Yes, but doesn’t really care for it.  Goes in easily with a treat.  Chai is crated when I leave for extended amounts of time and when fed his meals.  Sometimes during the evening, I will put him in his crate and he will go to sleep, but when it’s time to go to bed he does not like to stay in it.  I then move him to my bed where he usually sleeps through the night.

Leash trained:  Chai does very well on the leash considering how young he is and not having any experience with leash walking.  I’m working on taking him on small walks and I think with consistency he will pick it up quickly.  

Activity Level:  Chai is a pretty laid back and mellow pup.  He loves to play and run outside with his foster fur sister until both of their tongues are hanging out.  Rides well in the car (has gotten carsick a couple of times but seems to be doing better).  Jumps out of the car just fine but still working on jumping in.  

Fence: A physical fence would be the ideal situation for him, but I would consider a foster home that would commit to daily multiple walks and/or daily dog park visits.  

Behavior:  Chai has been a well-behaved little guy.  He’s a typical puppy and does have his puppy moments, but overall has been a mellow and laid-back pup.

Medical History:  Chai has been neutered, UTD on all vaccinations, and is on flea/tick and heartworm prevention. 

Chai originates from Greece where Leishmaniasis is endemic.  He was removed from Greece as a puppy, so it is unlikely he would ever develop Leishmaniasis, but the parasite can remain dormant in the system for many years, so potential adopters must be willing to commit to annual testing for the next 7 years.  Typically, the test needs to be sent to a special lab, but any regular vet can draw the blood and send it to the lab.  The test typically costs $120-150.

Foster Comments:  Chai is a sweet and happy little guy.  He gets along with other dogs, loves chewing on toys/bones and being with his people.  He loves to play with his foster sister so I would like to find him a home with another fur sibling(s) to play with or a family that would include him on walks, rides and going places.  He will melt your heart and a sweet boy that will make a great addition to someone’s family.

Adoption Fee: $395.00

Foster Location:  Hamilton, OH

Volunteer transport can be arranged in the Continental US within a 1,000 mile distance between adopters & foster home. Typically, we are able to transport your adopted dog to within 2 hours of your home. *Dogs can be adopted outside the 1000 mile transport distance; however, adopters must be willing to either fly their adopted dog, drive to a location within the 1000 mile transport range, or make independent transport arrangements for their adopted dog. Transports to far West states, from Eastern states, may have additional restriction