GIRL AB#16-116

 

                      

Girl running in yard video

Girl waiting for dinner video

Gender: Female
Age: 6-10 years. Previous owner first stated she was 6yo, then later changed it to 10yo. Because of her agility and activity level, the original 6 year age could be correct, but we must disclose, she could very well be an active 10 year old.
Size/Weight: 35 pounds
Color: Orange and white
Breed: English Setter

Good with Children: Yes

Good with Dogs: Yes. Foster home has a dog. Girl is perfectly fine with that, also fine with other dogs we meet on walks.

Good with Cats: Unknown

House trained: Yes. She paces back and forth as her signal.

Crate trained: Yes, Girl is learning to go in to crate on command and settles in for a nap.

Leash trained: She uses a harness. Foster is working on leash walking with a collar, also.

Activity Level: Girl’s energy level is very good. Girl plays with toys and loves to play in the yard, however she also likes to cuddle on the couch beside you and to sleep with you in bed. Girl will also sleep well in her crate for the night.

Fence REQYURED: Girl is absolutely homeland security for birds and squirrels so a hard fence is necessary. The fence has to be secure or Girl will go on a mission to take out some squirrels and reduce the numbers in the neighborhood.

Behavior: Girl watches what you do and follows you so she can be ready to cuddle as soon as you sit down. She also wants to be ready in case you’re going outside and she can go out too. Girl rides well in the car. Foster is working on basic commands with Girl. She is also a good watchdog.

Medical History: Girl is the picture of health! Her coat stays very white, her hair is smooth and silky and her eyes are bright.
When Girl came to us she was very underweight. She gained 10 pounds in 2 weeks. Girl had worms and fleas. She no longer has either.
Girl is spayed, up to date on vaccines and micro chipped. Girl is UTD on monthly heartworm and flea/tick meds.

Foster Comments: Girl is happy, lively and cheerful. She seems to love everyone. She loves to play and sleep. She is a tiny little princess.
Girl likes to be petted and hugged. Girl will be a nice addition to any home, large or small. She is a good companion in the home, follows you around to every room to be with you, and settles in when you sit down. Girl loves to hang out on the sofa, but will also hang in her bed or at your feet.
Her very favorite thing to do is be out in the yard watching for birds and squirrels. She runs with her head up, on constant bird watch.
When Girl came to us she did not answer to her name, Ringo, but she did answer to Girl. You have to wonder why she wasn’t really given a name. Why she lived in a tiny concrete kennel her entire life. Well no matter. Girl is doing great, likes being a family pet and has adjusted well to her new life. She is a good eater, dry food twice a day.

Adoption fee: $150.00 (Fee based for a 10yo dog)

Foster Location: Staten Island, New York
In most cases volunteer transport is available for your adopted dog to within 2 hours of your home.